Product Review: Under Armour Storm Hybrid Women’s Running Hoodie

Pin it –>

UA Storm Hybrid
Women’s Running Hoodie

Before I get into the details of the hoodie did you know that Under Armour was developed by a college football player in the basement of his grandma’s house in 1996?  He was tired of changing out of his nasty sweaty cotton t-shirts over and over again during two-a-days.  The company outgrew grandma’s basement in 1998, and in 2003 it officially launched it’s women’s line of apparel.  2006 they introduced the cleat for various sports, 2008 was the release of their performance trainer, marking its official entry into the athletic footwear market.  Find out more about the history of Under Armour here.

Now, back to the hoodie.
screenshot_20161124-204654

screenshot_20161124-204704

screenshot_20161124-204711

screenshot_20161124-204726

screenshot_20161124-204733

I love this hoodie!  It’s become my new favorite.

I was first, really, introduced to Under Armour clothing this summer.  I picked up a pair of shorts, loved them, and grabbed the same pair in two other colors.  When I saw this hoodie hanging on the rack at Fleet Feet Sports Mishawaka I was instantly drawn to it.  I don’t know if it was the dual texture sleeves, the fun front kangaroo style pocket, or the cowl neck, but I was in love.  And then I had to try it on and I didn’t want to take it off.

  • After trying it on, I instantly noticed the amount of flexibility I had in my shoulders.  You have full range of motion, no restriction in arm movement whatsoever.
  • The lower part of the sleeve is made of a different material and it felt a little tight around my forearms, at first.  However the more I wore it, the more it seemed to loosen up, but don’t expect to push up the sleeves.  The sleeve is so tapered at the cuff that it prevents it from being pushed up.
  • The ends of the sleeves have thumbholes, which are made up of a 3rd type of material.  These are the softest thumbholes, made with the thinnest material I have ever experienced.  The sleeve length was perfect for me so the thumbholes don’t dig into the base of my thumbs, nor do I feel like I have to tug on the sleeve to stretch it out.  I could easily slip my thumbs through the thumbholes, and then put a glove over top and not feel like there was too much material bunched up inside.
    img_20161124_205255
    img_20161124_205246
  • The front, kangaroo style, pocket is the best!  This is the first shirt that I’ve purchased with this type of pocket.  You have your traditional hoodie pocket and then on the outside of that pocket is a zipper pocket (hence the “kangaroo” description).  Inside the zippered pocket you have a smaller pocket that is designed to hold a small electronic (a phone, an ipod, etc.) there is even a small hole for you to slip your earbud wires through.  Inside the outer zipper pocket you’ll also find a small bungee loop that you can clip your keys to.
    img_20161124_205440

  • The hood rolls up into the collar and secures with a zipper.  I haven’t had a chance to really try out the hood.  In fact, sometimes I forget that it’s there.
    screenshot_20161124-204718

I would love to have the other two colors that are available.  I’m trying to convince my husband of how much I need them so that he will purchase them for me.
screenshot_20161124-204807  screenshot_20161124-204838

UA Product DNA:
* Loose: Generous, more relaxed fit
* UA Storm 1: Water-Resistant
* Super light performance knit construction with double woven arm panels
* Signature Moisture Transport System wicks sweat to keep you cool, dry & light
* Cinched convertible cowl neck with zip out hood
* Thumbhole keep sleeves secure & help seal in your body heat
* ColdGear lined kangaroo pocket with secure zip secondary compartment pocket
* Reflective details for low-light runs
* Polyester/Elastane Imported

Retail $90

Colors: Black, Grape Fusion, Water

Shop at: FleetFeetSports.com (black only) UnderArmour.com (black) UnderArmour.com (Grape Fusion/Water)
Pin it –>

Leave a Reply

